People at the NYSF

Board of Directors

  • Chair: Andrew Metcalfe AO
  • Secretary: Mr Rowland Tompsett
  • Finance Director: James Palmer
  • NYSF Alumnus representative: Dr Renee Kidson
  • Rotary Liaison Officer: Mr Rob Woolley
  • Chief Executive Officer: Dr Damien Pearce
  • Loren Atkins
  • Sally-Ann Poulson

Council Members (alphabetical)

  • Professor John Close (ANU representative)
  • Professor Jenny Graves (Australian Academy of Science representative)
  • Stephen Hill (Rotary District Governor 9710)
  • Mary Mulcahy (CSIRO representative)
  • Dr Alison Shield (University of Canberra representative)
  • Professor Robin Stanton (ATSE representative)


  • His Excellency General the Honourable Sir Peter Cosgrove AK MC (Retd)
    Governor-General of Australia

The NSSS Inc Council

The Council operates under the constitution of the National Science Summer School Incorporated to oversee the management and operation of the National Youth Science Forum and the NYSF Staff Leadership Program.

The membership consists of:

NYSF staff

  • Damien Pearce
  • Amanda Caldwell
    Manager, External Relations
  • Madeline Cooper
    Manager, STEM Education
  • Finnegan Lowe
    Corporate Services Team
  • Melanie Tacey
    Corporate Services Team